Roaming vs eSIM: 7-Day and 14-Day Costs in 15 Countries
This page compares public carrier roaming prices with the lowest qualifying travel eSIM prices across 15 destinations. The 7-day cost multiple has a median of 7.3x across 73 destination-carrier groups.
Key findings
Cost multiple = 7-day carrier roaming cost (US$) ÷ the lowest qualifying 7-day eSIM price in the same destination (US$).
- Median 7-day multiple
- 7.3x
- Destination-carrier groups
- 73
- Observed range
- 1.6x–18.9x
- Median 7-day cost difference
- US$52.88
51 of the 73 groups are at least 5x.
The 7.3x figure is the median of 73 destination-carrier cost multiples. Excluding Singtel leaves 58 groups and a 6.5x median.
| Carrier | Median | Range |
|---|---|---|
| Verizon | 10.28x | 2.75–15.30 |
| Singtel | 11.57x | 3.41–18.95 |
| O2 | 5.94x | 2.14–11.91 |
| Rogers | 5.94x | 1.75–9.72 |
| Telstra | 5.43x | 1.60–8.90 |
| Vodafone UK | 3.89x | 3.89–3.89 |
7-day cost by country
Each carrier cell shows the 7-day cost and its multiple of the lowest qualifying eSIM price in the same destination.
— = No data. Verizon is not applicable to the United States because it is domestic. O2 has no data for France, Italy, Spain or the United Kingdom; the dataset does not state why. Vodafone UK has data only for France, Italy and Spain. eSIM prices were collected on 2026-10-20 at 07:01 Dubai time; carrier prices were checked on 2026-10-20 at 23:18 Dubai time.
14-day cost by country
This table shows 14-day carrier costs only. It does not include 14-day cost multiples.
— = No data. Data cut-off: 2026-10-20. eSIM prices were collected on 2026-10-20 at 07:01 Dubai time. Carrier prices were checked on 2026-10-20 at 23:18 Dubai time. Individual eSIM cell check times are unavailable.
eSIM prices by brand
The 7-day and 14-day columns refer to trip lengths. Each plan's actual validity is shown in its cell.
These are snapshot prices with a data cut-off of 2026-10-20, not current-price quotes. eSIM prices were collected on 2026-10-20 at 07:01 Dubai time. Individual cell check times are unavailable.
Carrier roaming prices we used
Original currency prices and their US$ equivalents are shown below. The exchange-rate basis is: ECB reference exchange rates dated 2026-10-20, obtained via the Frankfurter API.
| Carrier | Plan | Scope | Billing | Original price | US$ equivalent | Checked at (Dubai) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VerizonUnited States | TravelPass | 210+ countries and territories, excluding Mexico and Canada | Per day | USD 12 | US$12.0 | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| VerizonUnited States | TravelPass | Mexico and Canada | Per day | USD 6 | US$6.0 | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| TelstraAustralia | Day Pass Zone 1 | New Zealand + 6 Oceania destinations | Per day | AUD 5 | US$3.49 | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| TelstraAustralia | Day Pass Zone 2 | Zone 2 destinations | Per day | AUD 10 | US$6.98 | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| TelstraAustralia | Day Pass Zone 3 | 80+ destinations across Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas and Oceania | Per day | AUD 10 | US$6.98 | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| OptusAustralia | Daily Roaming | 150+ destinations; zoned; not checked per country | Per day | AUD 5 | US$3.49 | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| RogersCanada | Travel Pass US 7 days | United States | 7-day pass | CAD 50 | US$35.59 | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| RogersCanada | Travel Pass US 14 days | United States | 14-day pass | CAD 60 | US$42.7 | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| RogersCanada | Travel Pass International 3 days | 180+ destinations | 3-day pass | CAD 45 | US$32.03 | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| RogersCanada | Travel Pass International 7 days | 180+ destinations | 7-day pass | CAD 75 | US$53.38 | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| RogersCanada | Travel Pass International 14 days | 180+ destinations | 14-day pass | CAD 100 | US$71.17 | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| RogersCanada | Travel Pass International 30 days | 180+ destinations | 30-day pass | CAD 120 | US$85.4 | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| O2United Kingdom | Travel Bolt On | Selected destinations outside the O2 Travel Inclusive Zone; pay monthly | Per day | GBP 7 | US$9.34 | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| Vodafone UKUnited Kingdom | European roaming pass 8 days | Zone B (Europe) | 8-day pass | GBP 16 | US$21.35 | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| Vodafone UKUnited Kingdom | European roaming pass 15 days | Zone B (Europe) | 15-day pass | GBP 21 | US$28.03 | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| SingtelSingapore | DataRoam Daily Unlimited | Destination-dependent; starting price | Per day | SGD 19 | US$14.86 | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| AT&TUnited States | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| T-MobileUnited States | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| EEUnited Kingdom | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| Three UKUnited Kingdom | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| Vodafone AUAustralia | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
| BellCanada | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | 2026-10-20 23:18 |
Not found
The following carrier pages required JavaScript or blocked access, so no price was recorded: AT&T, T-Mobile, EE, Three UK, Vodafone AU, Bell.
Comparison basis
| Carrier | Basis | 7-day cost | 14-day cost | Caveat |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Verizon | TravelPass US$12/day × trip days | US$84.0 | US$168.0 | — |
| Telstra | Day Pass A$10/day × trip days | US$48.86 | US$97.72 | Zone 2 and Zone 3 are the same price; country coverage not checked one by one |
| Rogers | Cheapest Travel Pass that covers the trip length | US$53.38 | US$71.17 | — |
| O2 | Travel Bolt On £7/day × trip days | US$65.38 | US$130.76 | O2 says 'selected destinations' outside its Travel Inclusive Zone; not checked per country |
| Singtel | DataRoam Daily Unlimited from S$19/day × trip days | US$104.02 | US$208.04 | 'From' price; actual price varies by destination |
| Vodafone UK | Cheapest European roaming pass that covers the trip length | US$21.35 | US$28.03 | — |
For the United States, Rogers uses the US Travel Pass: US$35.59 for 7 days and US$42.7 for 14 days. For Vodafone UK, the 7-day comparison uses the 8-day European roaming pass, and the 14-day comparison uses the 15-day pass.
How we compared
We collected prices from public pages without logging in or using promo codes. This is a price comparison, not a real-world test.
- eSIM prices were collected on 2026-10-20 at 07:01 Dubai time. Carrier prices were checked on 2026-10-20 at 23:18 Dubai time.
- All amounts are shown in US dollars. Original-currency prices are also shown. We used the ECB reference rates for 2026-10-20, obtained through the Frankfurter API.
- For the 7-day comparison, we used eSIMs valid for at least 7 days with at least 5 GB of data or unlimited data.
- For the 14-day comparison, we used eSIMs valid for at least 14 days with at least 10 GB of data or unlimited data.
- For daily-priced roaming, we multiplied the daily price by the trip length. For passes, we used the cheapest pass that covers the trip length.
- eSIM prices are USD list prices from Skylano, Airalo and Holafly public pages. No member price or discount code was used.
Exchange-rate source: Frankfurter API. Specific EUR conversion rates were not available in the source dataset, so they are not recreated here.
Data cut-off and how to cite
Data cut-off: 2026-10-20. This is a fixed snapshot, not a daily-updated page.
The cut-off date is separate from the publication date. Prices, plan names and exclusions can change after the snapshot date.
Download the data
Limitations (not like-for-like)
Carrier passes usually retain home-plan allowances, numbers, calls and texts; the eSIMs compared here are data-only. Offers are not like-for-like.
- We did not test network speed, coverage or activation in real-world conditions.
- O2 coverage was not checked country by country.
- Singtel prices are “from” prices, so the actual price varies by destination.
- Telstra country coverage was not checked one by one.
- The dataset does not state why certain carrier-destination cells are unavailable.
- Taxes, eligibility, plan rules and coverage should be checked with each carrier before travel.
Disclosure
Skylano sells travel eSIMs and is one of the brands compared on this page. Every price links to the public page used for the snapshot.
This page uses a fixed 2026-10-20 snapshot and does not promise daily updates.
Country eSIM plan pages
The data covers 15 destinations. These links lead to the current destination pages; current prices may differ from the snapshot.